The Met Office's Exeter office on a summer's day

Management of the Met Office

Our Owner

The ultimate responsibility and accountability for the work of the Met Office is with the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. Day-to-day ministerial oversight and the formal business ownership role are delegated to the Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation. You can find out more by reading the Met Office Framework document on which sets out the broad framework within which the Met Office operates.

Our Executive

The role of our Executive is the effective day-to-day leadership, direction and management of the Met Office in order to ensure successful delivery of the aims, objectives and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs). It is tasked with directing the strategic change and implementing strategic decisions taken by the Met Office Board. The Executive agrees key communications and makes investment decisions. The members work under the leadership of the Chief Executive and operate as a corporately cohesive collective with a shared interest in the successful achievement of our aims and objectives.

Our Board

The Met Office Board is led by an independent, non-executive Chair. The Board's primary responsibility is developing the long-term strategy of the Met Office. The Board supports and challenges our Executive in order to assist it in delivering against agreed Key Performance Indicators (KPIs). The Non-Executive Directors of the Board are encouraged to assist in raising external awareness of the Met Office and its work, and to build beneficial external relationships. The Board comprises the following members, including Non-Executive Directors (one of whom is the representative of the Met Office's owning department), selected members of the Met Office Executive, plus an invited attendee from the Trade Union:


Rob Woodward

Chair of the Board

Prof Jordan Giddings

Non-Executive Director

Jane Lancastle

Representative, Prospect Trade Union

Hunada Nouss Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee
Christine Ourmieres-Widener Non-Executive Director

James Partington

Representative, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)

Catherine Quinn Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Anusha Shah

Non-Executive Director
Prof Alan Thorpe Non-Executive Director

Prof Penelope Endersby

Chief Executive

Prof Stephen Belcher Chief of Science and Technology
Simon Brown Services Director
Charles Ewen Technology Director / Chief Information Officer
Nick Jobling Chief Finance Officer
Tammy Lillie Chief People Officer